Community of St Mary the Virgin, Wantage

Photographs of the Stations of the Cross

(in the St Mary Magdalene Chapel)

(click on a photograph to see a larger image)

These Stations of the Cross were carved in teak by Mother Maribel, CSMV over the course of 27 years and they include a 15th Station, the Resurrection.

1. Jesus is condemned to death

2. Jesus receives the cross

3. Jesus falls the first time


4. Jesus meets his blessed Mother

5. Simon is compelled to bear the Cross

6. Veronica wipes the face of Jesus


7. Jesus falls the second time

8. Jesus speaks to the women of Jerusalem

9. Jesus falls for the third time


10.Jesus is stripped of his garments

11. Jesus is nailed to the Cross

12. Jesus dies upon the Cross


13. Jesus is taken down from the Cross

14. Jesus is laid in the Sepulchre

15. The Resurrection

Back to CSMV